Meet the Committee

The 2016/2017 Chickadee Award Committee

Kelley Drisko has provided library services at Gilbert School in Augusta for over 15 years. She has a teaching certificate in language arts and social studies, and taught high school English for many years.

Chris Fricke has been a school librarian for 25 years in Indiana, Vermont and Maine. She has also taught French at both the elementary and high school levels. She is currently an elementary librarian in Portland.

Matthew Halpern was an elementary classroom teacher for ten years and now works as a Literacy Strategist in RSU 5-Freeport, Durham, Pownal, Maine.  He loves finding ways to weave children’s literature into all areas of the curriculum.  Matt’s Master's degree in Literacy Education was earned at the University of Southern Maine, and he wrote a book, Look at My Happy Rainbow, based on his experiences as a male kindergarten teacher.

Teresa Holyoke once taught in a two-room schoolhouse, and now works at the largest school in the state. She has taught at every grade level K-8 except grade two. She was a classroom teacher for 23 years before earning her MLIS from Florida State University, and becoming the librarian at Brewer Community School.

Carey Johnson received her degree in English from Northeastern University and her Masters in Children's Literature from Simmons College. She currently teaches third grade at CK Burns School in Saco. A member of SCBWI, she loves the art of the picture book and teaching units about Caldecott Award winners. She also directs the 3rd Grade Chorus at Burns School. Twitter: @careyjo7

Kerri LeSieur has been a classroom for 16 years.  She graduated from Plymouth State College with a degree in Elementary Education and received her Master's in Literacy Education from the University of Southern Maine in 2012.  She currently teaches 1st grade at Biddeford Primary School.

Lynn Mayer is the librarian at Old Town Elementary School. She was a classroom teacher for 11 years, a public library director for three years and has been a school librarian for 18 years. She holds a Masters degree in Library and Information Sciences from the University of South Carolina.

Kathy Stevens emigrated from England in 1966 and settled first in Biddeford and then Saco. She holds a B.S. in library science from UMA and an MLIS from Drexel University. She has worked as a library Ed Tech at Saco Middle School. She has now retired as the Youth Services Librarian at Baxter Memorial Library in Gorham.

Jane Wellman-Little is a full-time lecturer in the College of Education and Human Development, University of Maine, Orono, where she teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in children's literature, picture book art, reading, and literacy. She is a member of the National Council of Teachers of English, the Children's Literature Assembly, Maine Reading Association, and is currently the Vice-President of the New England Reading Association.

Lynn Young is currently librarian for the Mabel I. Wilson School in Cumberland.  She has a B.S. in Child Development, having taught elementary grades in Maine and Vermont.  She previously worked as a Training Specialist for L.L. Bean. 


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. I don't believe Blizzard is on this year's list but it is on the ballot online. Chris Bulsa-O'Meara

  3. Check - for the 2017 ballot.